Users Online :      
Make Homepage
Careers @ ITA
Untitled Document
Untitled Document
Indian Television Academy GR8 TV! Magazine Anushka Images
The ITA Awards » The Indian Television Academy Awards
Headline: The Indian Television Academy Awards, 2012
Year : 2012
Location : Andheri Sports Complex, Mumbai
The Event
On the 4th November, ’12, The Indian Television Academy celebrated the 12th year of its crowning endeavour, ‘The ITA Awards’ that have, today, become the most coveted stamp of excellence on the canvas of Television.

At Andheri Sports Complex in suburban Mumbai, this biggest night of the Small Screen was held with rare razzle-dazzle. The venue was awash with the who’s who of TV-industry, who were either performing or were nominees or presenters there in the Event. While each Award was cheered lustily by all of those present, the Ceremony was punctuated with jaw-dropping performances and acts, done by today’s biggest TV-heartthrobs like, Gurmeet Choudhary, Hina Khan, Nia Sharma, Angad Haseja, Ritwik Dhanjani, Rati Pandey, Deepika Singh, Drashti Dhami, Amir Ali, Karan Wahi, Jay Bhanushali, Manish Raisinghani, Anirudh Dave and so on.

A specially designed and dazzlingly executed act comprised the fabulous li’l mastters of Dance India Dance with the Stars of Jhalak Dikhla Ja. Besides, the goings-on were spiced by the rip-roaring anchoring by Ridhi Dogra, Karan Grover and Karan Kundra, while the Red-carpet was handled by Neelu Waghela (Bhaabho in ‘Diya Bati…’) and Utkarsha Naik (Manorama in ‘Iss Pyar Ko...’)!

One of the major highlights of the evening were the ITA Honours conferred on four of our Olympian victors this year- Sushil Kumar (Silver Medal- ‘Wrestling’), Vijay Kumar (Silver Medal- ‘Shooting’), Gagan Narang (Bronze Medal- ‘Shooting’) and Yogeshwar Dutt (Bronze Medal- ‘Wrestling’)!

This year, ‘The ITA Scroll of Honour – Global Recognition’ was accorded to Anil Kapoor for his achievements in Films as well as Television. It was particularly to commemorate his efforts to bring Indian Television at par with global standards by attempting an Indian version of the iconic Fox series, ‘24’. The honour was presented by yesteryears’ Superstar, Jeetendra.

The Ceremony had an overwhelming touch of nostalgia when Salma Sultan, Alok Nath and Neena Gupta took to the mike to wax eloquent about Television through the years.

Says Shashi Ranjan, Convener, The ITA…
‘The ITA Awards is no more an Event, today – it is, in fact, TV’s Mahakumbh, where the who’s who of TV-fraternity comes to celebrate the glory of Indian Television. And trust me, this reputation is earned with the hardest possible toil and trouble.
‘Even more than that, the core thing here in the genuineness of the endeavour that is solely and totally in the service of Television. We are privileged to have the unstinted support of the Fraternity and we would continue to be worthy of their trust – that’s a promise!’

Anu Ranjan, President, The ITA elaborates further on that…
‘You see, The ITA Awards is only one of a kind where the entire TV-fraternity gathers to cheer each other’s achievements. Like the Olympics, it is ‘participation’ that is more important here than anything else, including winning. It’s like an annual festival of joy for the Industry and the fact that we are in our 12th year of such a celebrated existence speaks volumes about the difference The ITAA has made to excellence in the medium!’

In sum, with that awesome set, those blinding acts and the ‘bestest’ of the ‘bests’ of TV this year being decorated there, the 12th year of The ITA Awards created historic moments of Television, for Television and by Television!

The Spacial Awards

The ITA Scroll of Honour - 2012 - Global Recognition - Anil Kapoor

The ITA Scroll of Honour - 2012 - Olympic Medalist- Gagan Narang, Yogeshwar Dutt & Vijay Kumar

The ITA Scroll of Honour - 2012 - Ensemble Cast - Devon Ke Dev Mahadev

The ITA Special Mention 2012 - IBN 7
Best Actor – Drama
Ram Kapoor - Bade Achhe Lagte Hain…
Best Actress – Drama
Sweta Tiwari - Parvarrish – Kuchh Khattee Kuchh Meethi
Best Serial – Drama
Parvarrish – Kuchh Khattee Kuchh Meethi - Tony & Deeya Singh
Best Director – Drama
Imtiaz Punjabi - Parvarrish – Kuchh Khattee Kuchh Meethi
Best Actress – Comedy
Bharti Singh - Kahani Comedy Circus Ki
Best Actor- Comedy
Dilip Joshi for Tarak Mehta Ka Oolta Chashmah & Kapil Sharma for Kahani Comedy Circus Ki
Best Director – Comedy
Shashank Bali - F.I.R.
Best Serial – Comedy
F.I.R. - Edit II Productions Pvt. Ltd.
Best Anchor - News/Current Affairs Show
Rajdeep Sardesai - Ground Zero Gujrat
Best Anchor - Music & Film-based Show
Manish Paul - Jhalak Dikhla Ja
Best Anchor - Talk/Chat Show
Sumeet Raghvan - JAY HIND
Best Anchor - Game/Quiz Show
Rajiv Makhni - Tech Grand Masters 2
Best Actress in a Negative Role
Hema Singh - Kairi –Rishta Khatta Meetha
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Karanvir Bohra - Dil Se Di Dua… Saubhagyavati Bhava???
Best Thriller / Horror Serial
Gumrah – The End of Innocence -Balaji Telefilms Ltd. in association - with Lost Boy Productions
Desh ka Ladla / Ladli (Most Promising Child Star)
Amrita Mukherjee (Pihu) - Bade Achhe Lagte Hain...
GR8! Performer of the Year - Female
Rati Pandey - Hitler Didi
GR8! Performer of the Year - Male
Vivian Dsena - Madhubala - Ek Ishq Ek Junoon
Best Music & Film-based Show
Dance India Dance Li'L Masters Season 2 - Frames Production
Best News/Current Affairs Show
Zindagi Live (Godhra)
Best Game/Quiz Show
Tech Grand Masters 2
Best Talk/Chat Show
The Late Night Show - Undercover Productions on Colors
Best Reality Show
Survivor India
Best Television Event
Filmfare Awards - Produced & Executed by Cineyug Worldwide
Best Mini-series
Yoga Sutra - NDTV INDIA
Best TV Documentary
India’s Abandoned Child
Best Interstitial / Filler
Lets Fly the Flag
Jury Technical Awards
Best Singer
Kailash Kher & Shubha Mudgal - Diya Aur Baati Hum
Best Costumes
Winnie Malhotra & Neelu Shroff - Balika Vadhu -Kacchi Umar Ke Pakke Rishte
Best Art Direction
Omung Kumar - Masterchef India 2
Best Visual Effects
Fear Files - Abhimanyu Singh
Best Editing
Amit Kalra - Making of Foodistan
Best Videography
Sanjay K Memane - Balika Vadhu -Kacchi Umar Ke Pakke Rishte
Best Title Music/Song Track
Lalit Sen - Balika Vadhu - Kacchi Umar Ke Pakke Rishte
Best Dialogues
Usha Dixit - Balika Vadhu -Kacchi Umar Ke Pakke Rishte
Best Teleplay
Bhavini Iyer - Ek Hazaaron Mein Meri Behna Hai
Best Lyricist
Priya Panchal - Afsar Bitiya
Popular Awards
Best Actor - Desh Ka Sitara
Best Actress – Desh Ki Dhadkan
NIA SHARMA- Ek Hazaaron Mein Meri Behna Hai
Desh Ka Dhaaravahik (Best Serial)
Best Entertainment Channel
Best News Channel - Hindi
Best News Channel English
All Rights Reserved The Indian Television Academy 2001-2014 | | Empowered by Qtech Software Pvt Ltd
Best viewed in 1024x768 Resolution with Internet Explorer 5+